FIVE PICTURE FRIDAY!!

Portland's waterfront

Taken September 2, 2023

No place exposes the contradictions of Portland like its downtown waterfront.  A busy place of community utility, yet full of our societal woes. It’s home to amazing bridges, parks, families, homeless camps, markets, tourists, and protests.  Bike friendly yet hemmed in by freeways. Pockmarked with art and decay. Nature and concrete. A working port and a place for water sports. Battleground.  Campground. Play ground.  You can argue if it’s good or bad, but it certainly is real…

About “Five Picture Friday”

Every other Friday, I produce a short photo-essay on a location I found interesting. I try to capture the essence of the place, distilled down into a few images. It’s a fun way to practice my photography, and I hope you enjoy a little armchair travel!

Parting Proclamation

Words, witticisms, and wisdom:

For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.

- H. L. Mencken

Enjoying The CD Dispatch?

Please share, forward, retweet, repost, like, publish, proselytize, subscribe, sing the praises of, and generally make it clear to your friends and neighbors that life is simply not worth living unless you’re a subscriber.

Why should you have all the fun?

No, seriously. Who do you think you are ? Selfish bastard…

Disclaimer:

All content and opinions are solely those of the author (Jack), and not representative of my employer, former employers, anyone in Congress, my family, former college roommates, Baptists, the good citizens of Oregon, or my dog Mabel.