FIVE PICTURE FRIDAY!!

Fort Vancouver, Washington

Taken February 19, 2024

Just across the river from Portland, Fort Vancouver sits near various freeways, somewhat ignored. Established by the Hudson Bay Company in 1842 as a fur trading post, the site quickly became the center of white settlement in the Oregon territory and was a working military barracks and airfield through World War II. Now a National Historic site, dozens of aging buildings offer the local community a lovely park, museum, and getaway from the daily grind.

About “Five Picture Friday”

Every other Friday, I produce a short photo-essay on an interesting location. I try to capture the essence of the place, distilled down into a few images. It’s a fun way to practice my photography, and I hope you enjoy a little armchair travel!

An interruption from the Real World…

For those few of you who are strangely curious about my real job, I was recently a guest on a small Podcast talking about my work in Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) and sustainability. You can listen here:

Enjoying The CD Dispatch?

Please share, forward, retweet, repost, like, publish, proselytize, subscribe, sing the praises of, and generally make it clear to your friends and neighbors that life is simply not worth living unless you’re a subscriber.

Why should you have all the fun?

No, seriously. Who do you think you are ? Selfish bastard…

Disclaimer:

All content and opinions are solely those of the author (Jack), and not representative of my employer, former employers, clients, anyone in Congress, my family, former college roommates, Baptists, the good citizens of Oregon, or my dog Mabel.